About Kathleen

Hello everyone! Thank you so much for stopping to check out our blog! I’m the second half of this crazy duo who decided to create a blog about one of the most frustrating times in a person’s life- (in my opinion) the early to mid twenties. My name is Kathleen and I recently completed my degree in Anthropology with a minor in Biology. I’m 22 going on 50, not only because I love reading a good book with a cup of tea in bed on a Friday night, but because I feel like if I don’t decide what I’m going to do with my life ASAP I’m going to blink and BE 50. So now that you know more about my headspace, a bit more about my life. I have been a vegetarian for almost a decade, and I have been 80% vegan for almost two years (more on that struggle later). I am a vege(vegan?)tarian for numerous reasons, MOSTLY for animal rights, but also for the environment impact, and my health (seriously veganism has stopped me from eating a block of cheese a day). I’m fairly active and love hot yoga, and any type of exercise class that’s fast paced and good vibes (hello Zumba anyone?). I love cooking and finding new vegan recipes to experiment with, shoutout to Minimalist Baker and OhSheGlows.
I’m a born traveller, I absolutely love every stage of trips, from the planning to the actual trip itself. Last summer was one of the best summers of my life. I travelled for almost two straight months; starting with an insane road trip across Canada and the US from Alberta to Delaware for Firefly Music Festival with one of my best friends, to a month-long archaeology trip in Italy with another of my best friends (and the co-authour of this blog) Erin, and rounding out with a week-long road trip to Washington State with my boyfriend. Personally travelling is worth way more than anything I could ever buy, which is why I’m ok being broke as hell right now (it’s acceptable to wearing leggings three days in a row right?). This summer I’m going on a family graduation trip to Portugal with my immediate family and my grandpa on my mom’s side (family travel survival guide to come soon), hopefully on another trip with Erin, and my boyfriend. In November my roommate and I have planned a trip to Mexico for Day of the Dead, and I could continue talking about travelling but I should probably go win the lottery.
One of my main loves in this word is coffee. It’s how I make a living, and shoutout to those triple caramel macchiatos for getting me through university, you’re the real MVP. I worked at Starbucks for four years in my youth (16-20) before moving onto independent coffee shops. I could talk about coffee for hours, but I won’t bore you with the difference between Cortados and Macchiatos – google it. In my spare time I edit the student eJournal at my University and try to squeeze in healthy eating, working out, making money, hanging with my friends, my boyfriend, my family, and getting 8 hours – it often feels like life is saying pick two of three you can’t have it all.
To conclude this intro post, thanks again and I can’t wait to talk to you all some more! I’m looking forward to posting about my lifestyle and interests. If there is anything you want us to talk about just send us a tweet or an email and we’ll make sure to include it in the next weeks post. Erin is a pretty rad human (she’s the yin to my yang) and I can’t wait to share this space with her – truly no better person to share the internet with.
Talk soon!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s